Mermaid hair

Hey Guys and Dolls,

I finally got sick of the natural look I have been rocking lately and have gone back to my crazy wild hair colours.

I call this style ‘Mermaid hair!’

Mermaid hair! 007 edit

 

I used Special effects atomic pink, Stargazer plume and Directions turquoise.

hair dye

 

I will write a full review of the products once they have been in for a while but my initial reaction is positive. It is hard to tell from the photos but there are different shades of blue and green within the turquoise and it changes colour depending on the light. This is a very fun look and feels a lot more ‘me’ than brown hair did.

Mermaid hair!

 

To achieve this style I first bleached my hair to a pale blonde colour. Since bleaching is very harsh on hair I then used a conditioning hair mask which I left in overnight. The next day I washed and dried my hair again and then applied the atomic pink dye to the bottom section of my hair. The instructions say to leave the dye in for around 15 mins but I left it for 45 mins. Whenever I wash out hair dye I use cold water as someone once told me it makes the dye last longer. I have no idea if this is true or just an old wives tale. I then dried my hair and applied the turquoise dye to all the remaining blonde hair and left this in for 45 mins also. I then added a little of the plume (which is a deep purple) to blend the two colours together. When I was finished I conditioned my hair again and added some Moroccan argan oil. The whole process took around 3 or 4 hours so you need plenty of patience if you are going to try something like this.

What do you guys think of my latest hair creation? At the moment I’m loving it, but who knows how long it will be before I get bored and change it again 

Love from JJ

11 Comments

Filed under Hair

11 responses to “Mermaid hair

  1. Love it, really suits you x

  2. had similar before, god i love the brights! Currently have a faded pastel pink and purple 😀 going pastel blue soon! 😀 x

    • Oooh nice! What dye are you using for the pastel blue? I can’t find one I like x

      • Well I mostly rely upon Fudge Paintbox, the colours always came out bright and when they faded it was to nice hues. The light purple I had recently I got from mixing conditioner and their colour Blueberry Hill, a gorgeous purple. This time I will probably mix their dark Blue Velvet with conditioner and see how that goes 🙂
        They do have a light blue called Blue Hawaii, but it never lasted too long for me before. X

      • I find blue to be the worst colour for fading, they never last long. I’ve never tried fudge paintbox, I might give it a try sometime 🙂 x

      • It’s been the best colour dyes I’ve found 😀 really lasted well and goes on the hair really nicely 🙂 such lovely colours! Especially the purples and dark blue! 😀 x

  3. Fabulous take on the ombré trend

Leave a Reply

