Product review: Stargazer tropical green

Hey Guys and Dolls!

My hair colour is starting to fade out pretty badly and I have just ordered a new colour so I figured now would be a good time to post a little review.

Stargazer

This is the first time I have used any Stargazer product. I didn’t know what to expect as I know hair dye can always be a bit hit or miss.

Is it easy to apply?

The dye comes already made up in the bottle so there is no need to do any mixing or trying to squeeze tubes of colour into tiny bottles like you have to do with some hair dye products. So that part is nice and easy and mess free. The bottle comes with an easy applicator nozzle so I didn’t need to use a bowl and tint brush. On  the one hand that is quite handy as it saves time and mess. However, I found that using the nozzle made it harder to get an even coverage. The whole process of applying the dye to my hair didn’t actually take very long so it gets points for convenience.

Score: 4/5

Does it match the sample colour?

Yes! It is maybe a shade or two lighter but it is still a very good match. This is great as I have had so many experiences of hair dye turning out to be a completely different colour to what they promise.  Stargazer Tropical green comes out more blue than green if you ask me but its ok because that is what I was expecting. The colour is  a very vibrant blue for about a week and as it fades it gradually becomes more green.

sample and my hairI applied this colour to per-lightened hair. It will not turn out this vibrant if you apply it too dark hair.

Score: 4/5 (I am giving it a 4 just because I feel that it should be advertised as a blue dye not green. If it was called tropical blue I would give the colour 5/5)

How long does it last?

It starts out as a bright blue which lasts about a week before starting to look green but is still quite vibrant. After a week and a half it changed to a kind of pastel green with a hint of blue. I actually really like the colour it fades too, it’s kind of like getting two colours in one bottle. Stargazer tropical green fade

I would say that you get a good 3 weeks before you need to think about re-dyeing it. If you don’t like the colour it fades to and only want the vibrant colour and not the pastel then really you only have 1 and half weeks.

Score: 3/5

Is it cruelty free?

According to stargazers website they don’t test on animals but cannot guarantee that their products are vegan friendly.

Score: 4/5

Packaging

The packaging is really bland if you ask me. It doesn’t stand out when compared to the crazy colour packaging. The dye does come with gloves though so that is always nice.

Score: 2/5

Value for money

I paid £5.00 and got enough dye for two applications! I was incredibly happy with this. I’ve had the colour for 5 weeks now so I would say it’s good value for money. It’s not the longest lasting dye in the world but it is cheap and I would say it is certainly worth a fiver.

Score: 5/5

My overall verdict

I would definitely purchase this product again. I really like the colour and after having bad experiences with blue and green dyes in the past I would say this is probably one of the best that I have tried. My only real issue is the boring packaging.

Overall score: 4/5

If you fancy giving this colour a go you can buy it here: Stargazer tropical green

Love from JJ

1 Comment

Filed under Hair, Product review

One response to “Product review: Stargazer tropical green

  1. the colour is just AMAZING ❤

Leave a Reply

