Red dress valentine’s challenge

Happy valentines dayHey Guys and Dolls!

This post was originally intended to be posted yesterday as part of a challenge set by another blogger. The original idea was that a few bloggers would take part in the challenge and then all link up. Unfortunately it didnt work out like that. I’ve been going back and forth over whether or not to publish this post but I feel like I put in a lot of time and effort towards this challenge and so I have decided to publish this even though it didn’t work out with the other blogger.

 The idea of the challenge was to find a red dress or red themed outfit for Valentine’s day. Since it is a budget challenge it has to cost £20 or under.

This challenge has been so much fun for me and I feel like I have learned from it. I wanted to take part in this challenge because I seriously need to start saving my pennies and I guess I figured that a budget challenge would teach me how to shop for an outfit with a specific budget in mind, something as a self-confessed shopaholic I have never been able to stick to!

I knew from the start that I didn’t want to spend the entire £20 on a dress. I would need accessories too. So I set myself a target of £10-£15 for a dress so that I would have money left over for accessories.

My first stop was Primark. Primark is always my go-to place if I’m looking for something cheap and cheerful. But alas, Primark had nothing for me. There were a few red dresses but nothing that was really ‘me’. I was a little downhearted at this point as I was thinking Primark would be the only place I would find a dress for under £20. I grumpily trudged over to H&M to scour their sale racks. However, it appeared that H&M seem to have some sort of allergy to the colour red. Honestly, I searched through every item in that store, nothing was red! At this point the panic set in, OMG I was going to have to leave my comfort zone! This is where I have to confess I’m very boring and stuck in my ways when it comes to shopping. I know which stores and brands I like and I rarely venture into any other stores. For the sake of the challenge I decided to be brave and try somewhere new so I marched myself into select. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. There were quite a few items in there that I liked the look of but sadly still no red dress. I tried out a few other stores that I usually pass by on shopping trips but still had no luck. Eventually I came across a little boutique that I must have passed by a thousand times but didn’t ever give a second thought. I looked up at the name of the boutique and couldn’t believe my eyes… IMAG2234

The store was called ‘RED DRESS’!!! Ha ha it must have been a sign 🙂 Delighted, I dashed inside. Ironically for a store named ‘red dress’ they didn’t have a lot of red dresses, only one in fact. As soon as I saw it I knew it was the one for me. I crossed my fingers and peeked at the price tag, only £15! Yippee! I was so happy.

collageI originally thought that a dress for£15 would be plain and boring and I was planning on customising whatever dress I bought in order to jazz it up a bit. But this dress doesn’t need any jazzing up, it is beautiful as it is. The dress is a lovely bright red skater dress with a fabulous lace panel and buttons down the back. It looks very feminine which is perfect for Valentine’s day.

Next I rushed over to the accessories section of the store and was ecstatic to find this wonderful necklace for only £3 Red dress challenge 013 editRed dress challenge 014 edit

Isn’t it fabulous? I love the tartan and the coat of arms hanging from the pearls. I think it has kind of a Vivienne Westwood feel to it, don’t you?

I also picked out a simple thin black belt which at £2 brought my total up to an even £20.

As part of the challenge we are allowed to use accessories such as shoes that we already have at home and so I teamed my outfit with my red pumps from Primark and my House of Holland for Pretty Polly bingo ball tights. Red dress challenge 005 edit Red dress challenge 004 edit Red dress challenge 002 edit

I have really enjoyed taking part in this challenge and I love the outfit. I’m so glad that the challenge forced me out of my comfort zone and into stores I wouldn’t normally shop in. If it wasn’t for the challenge I never would have spotted this beautiful dress. And I’m so glad I did! Love from JJ

4 Comments

Filed under OOTD

4 responses to “Red dress valentine’s challenge

  1. I’m so glad you decided to post this! I love the red dress and I love the look you created with your budget challenge! Too bad you didn’t show a picture of the back details of the dress on you… 🙂

  2. ameliajumps

    That necklace looks fully Vivienne Westwood vintage, I love it.x

Leave a Reply

