Troublesome trousers

trouser2

Have you ever owned an item of clothing that caused so much trouble it made you question whether or not you should actually be wearing it? That’s the problem I have with these harem pants. Don’t get me wrong, I love them, I mean I really LOVE them. I love everything about these trousers, the big bold print, the way they hang off my hips and how they are so comfortable. The trouble doesn’t come from how I feel about them; it’s the reaction I get from other people that’s the problem!

trouser4

I bought the pants three years ago from a market stall in Bangkok. I loved them instantly. I then proceeded to wear them religiously for the next six months as I backpacked my way around the planet. Of course at the time the hippy dippy backpacker crowd I was hanging with didn’t bat an eyelid, in fact it was normal attire. The trouble started when I arrived back home to England. It never occurred to me to stop wearing my new favourite pants just because I wasn’t a backpacker anymore. Why would it?

trouser 3

I live in quite a small village and I guess it’s not a very fashion forward kinda place. I’m sort of well known locally as ‘the girl who dresses weird’ even though I donโ€™t actually consider my style to be that ‘out there’. I’m often approached in the street by strangers asking me “Why arenโ€™t you wearing your cat shoes?” or “What colour are you dyeing your hair next?” I’m not gonna lie it feels kinda nice to have some recognition for the effort I put into my look and 90% of the time the comments I get from people are lovely, not to mention a great conversation starter during the commute to work ๐Ÿ™‚ However, when I wear my harem pants from Bangkok it’s a whole other story! I’ve never had such a strong reaction to an item of clothing before. Some people point and laugh, others make loud bitchy comments to their friends and some people are just plain nasty, I’ve had people shout insults at me in the street. It can get really embarrassing.

I’m not going to stop wearing them. I’m never going to let other peopleโ€™s opinions stop me from wearing something that I love and feel comfortable and happy in. I just don’t get why people have to be so rude? Yeah my trousers are a little unusual, yeah I know it’s not something you would wear, so what? Get over it! I would never put someone down because of what they were wearing; I just wish some people would extend me the same courtesy.

trouser5

I guess what I am trying to say is when it comes to style it only matters how you feel, if you are happy and comfortable in what you are wearing then who cares what other people think. Although I try to live by this I am only human and sometimes the insults do hurt and do make me think twice about what I wear. But there are always going to be people in this world who try to put me down. Who cares? I’m just going to keep on smiling and keep on rocking my troublesome trousers!

trouser6

7 Comments

Filed under OOTD

7 responses to “Troublesome trousers

  1. I will tell you that yes, they are loud, and they are “weird”. But you are rocking them like they are fierce!! I think its not about what you wear, but how you wear and what you pair it with. And it looks great on you! (And I love the hair color)

    http://www.OrReet.ets.ycom

  2. You are rocking these trousers! Love them! x

  3. I love them! the colour & the print is devine, ignore what others think & wear whatever makes you happy ๐Ÿ™‚ great look!

Leave a Reply

